Shabby Chic Dressing Table

This Dressing Table is the latest of my miniature creations.

Dressing Table

I have found the Chalk Paint can be a bit thick for this small furniture, so this time I added some water to thin it down a bit.  I did have to use a few more coats but seemed to be better on the decorative legs.

Dressing Table

I used a charcoal black undercoat, and then a white top coat.  Having a dark undercoat made the white top coat a bit darker, but I think the effect is quite pleasing.

Dressing Table

I lined the drawers with some pretty floral material, and made new draw pulls out of beads and silver coloured pins.

Dressing Table

This piece has not been distressed as much as my others, I must admit, it was difficult I do tend to get carried away.  Once this furniture is sanded and waxed it has a smooth feel, even if some pieces look a bit rough.

Dressing Table

Save

Save

7 Comments Add yours

  1. susanwener says:

    Lovely piece! I’ve been using chalk paint/wax on miniature furniture for several years now after my friend started carrying it in her “full-sized” shop. What a difference in the finish! I would never go back to acrylic/craft (or especially latex).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lee Higgins says:

      Thank you. I love this paint, it covers so well, the wax finish is so much nicer than varnish, it gives it such a silky smooth finish.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mandy Judge says:

    Very nice work!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jo says:

    Its beautiful, very nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jen says:

    Great work

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Alina N. Glez says:

    Beautiful. I absolutely love this shabby chic desk. I’d love it if you include tutorials on your blog! I’m following you!

    Liked by 1 person

Please spare a moment to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.